Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Celebrating 100 years of insulin research

2021 marks 100 years since the discovery of insulin, a peptide hormone produced in the pancreas and responsible for promoting the absorption of glucose from the circulating blood into the liver and other tissues. Insulin has been shown to be a key signalling regulator. Decreased or absent insulin activity is the cause of diabetes – type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disease leading to the destruction of the cells which produce insulin, while type 2 diabetes is generally related to a rise in insulin resistance or a loss of insulin sensitivity. Such is its importance to human health, insulin was the first protein to be fully sequences by Frederick Sanger in 1951, and the first protein to be produced by DNA recombinant technology in 1978 and research has so far yielded two Nobel Prizes.

If you're new to metabolism (or you need a refresh) check out our Understanding Biochemistry article on Metabolism, we've included it here as a primer for you. This collection includes some of the research, reviews and commentaries published in the field of diabetes, metabolic disease and insulin signalling across the Portland Press portfolio. Basic mechanisms are described in the Biochemical Journal and Bioscience Reports, while Clinical Science explores the translational and disease-related mechanisms and our reviews journals summarise the latest findings for you in easy to digest mini-reviews.

If you enjoy this, you might also want to check out the April issue of our magazine, The Biochemist, the features are themed in celebration of the anniversary and the magazine is available completely free online.

We hope that you find this collection interesting, and consider submitting your next paper to us.

Special Collection Image
Brooks P. Leitner; Stephan Siebel; Ngozi D. Akingbesote; Xinyi Zhang; Rachel J. Perry
Brian S. Mantilla; Lisvane Paes-Vieira; Felipe de Almeida Dias; Simone G. Calderano; Maria Carolina Elias; Daniela Cosentino-Gomes; Pedro L. Oliveira; José Roberto Meyer-Fernandes; Ariel M. Silber
Sara M. Frangos; David J. Bishop; Graham P. Holloway
Erik A. Richter; Lykke Sylow; Mark Hargreaves
Pascal Ferré; Franck Phan; Fabienne Foufelle
Staci A. Weaver; Jamie L. Felton; Carmella Evans-Molina
Elizabeth Haythorne; Frances M Ashcroft
Lorna I.F. Smith; James E. Bowe
Shanta J. Persaud; Oladapo E. Olaniru; Patricio Atanes
Evangelos Oikonomou; Costas Tsioufis; Dimitris Tousoulis
Minkai Cao; Le Zhang; Yu Lin; Zhengying Li; Jianjuan Xu; Zhonghua Shi; Zhong Chen; Jinqi Ma; Juan Wen
Joshua A. Beckman; Jiun-Ruey Hu; Shi Huang; Eric Farber-Eger; Quinn S. Wells; Thomas J. Wang; Robert E. Gerszten; Jane F. Ferguson
Rajveer Singh; Shivani Chandel; Dhritiman Dey; Arijit Ghosh; Syamal Roy; Velayutham Ravichandiran; Dipanjan Ghosh
Ayesha Judge; Michael S. Dodd
Emily A. Day; Rebecca J. Ford; Jessie H. Lu; Rachel Lu; Lucie Lundenberg; Eric M. Desjardins; Alex E. Green; James S.V. Lally; Jonathan D. Schertzer; Gregory R. Steinberg
Kai Wang; Yuting Liang; Yu Su; Liping Wang
Tae Kang Kim; Myung-Shik Lee
Marianna Santopaolo; Yue Gu; Gaia Spinetti; Paolo Madeddu
Kiran Javed; Stephen J. Fairweather
Samaneh Mafakheri; Alexandra Chadt; Hadi Al-Hasani
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal